Happy Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day! I’ll admit, I am not a huge celebrator of this holiday. I don’t know that Matthew and I ever exchanged gifts for it except for the first one we were dating…and his mom bought me a T-shirt. Does that count?

Anyways, with our anniversary being two days away, it hardly seems worth it to celebrate Valentine’s day when an anniversary is so much more significant. But, that doesn’t stop me from dreaming up potential gifts for myself, haha. And today, I’m all about earrings. I go in phases with earrings. I’ve had my ears pierced since…5th grade? 4th grade? Mom???? And through the years I have gone in phases or wearing earrings everyday to never wearing them and sticking an earring in each ear occasionally, just to make sure the hole doesn’t close up. But recently I’ve taken to a pair of pearls Matthew gave me for my birthday a year a half ago. He was SHOCKED when I started wearing them only a few weeks ago. (I want to also say that he gave me a beautiful pearl necklace with the earring, which I have worn on many occasions. I just hadn’t circled back to my earring wearing phase yet.)

Maybe it’s all of the Mad Men watching that we’ve been doing recently that made me decide to stick on my pearls, or maybe I’ve finally circled back. Either way, I am loving wearing studs again. And today, I’ve rounded up some of my favorites – because gifts aren’t just for Valentine’s and anniversaries, right? I’ll take a love gift any day.

Earrings above, via Kate Spade and Tory Burch.

Be sure to check back later this week for my gift to Matthew for our anniversary. I am SO excited about it. And Matthew, if you are reading this, there is a hint somewhere in this post about your gift.

2 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. I’ve got a pair of pearl studs with sterling silver dogflower jackets that I wear probably 3 times a week to work – they are my favorite earrings ever! They were my mom’s but she gave them to me when I graduated from Trinity. I love wearing them with the pearl necklace Mark gave me for our wedding – great reminders of people I love! Happy Valentines!

  2. Pingback: It’s a Mad Men Anniversary |

Leave a Reply

