How to eat ice cream and twenty-seven other life lessons learned

A lot of bloggers out there make lists of things they want to accomplish by a certain birthday – 30 tasks by the time they turn 30 or something like that. I’ve tried keeping these lists before. I’ve even got one going on just a few things I wanted to accomplish this year. Will I finish? Well…those travel books aren’t going to make themselves, I guess I better get to it.

This year, I decided instead to list out 28 life lessons I’ve learned in my 28 years on this earth. These are lessons in life and things I’ve learned about myself. It is very possible, that everyone already knows half of these things, but somewhere along the way, I learned them too. So here it goes…

1. The best way to eat ice cream is with a little milk poured over the top. If you haven’t tried it, you should, it will change your life. (Thanks, Dad.) This might be the most important thing I’ve learned in my life.

2. When baking a cake, it works best if the oven is level.

3. My mom always knows what to say. I hope that I can be like her when I have children. This will be an ongoing lesson to learn in my life.

4. You don’t have to be perfect. Sometimes good enough really is good enough.

5. The day always starts better when you end the previous evening with a clean kitchen.

6. To peel a frozen banana, run it under water for a few seconds and then peel it with a knife. Works like a charm. Alternatively, you could just freeze the banana without the peel…but I’ve never done that. That seems like the easy way.

7. Fresh flowers can make any bad day better.

8. Sometimes  you have to say no.

9. Laugh often.

10 It doesn’t matter how old I get, I’ll always be my dad’s little girl (along with my sister)!

11. Family matters. They build you up and keep you grounded. They are invested in your life. Don’t take them for granted.

12. I’m not a supermodel. I will never be rail thin. And I’m ok with that.

13. In college, I learned how to fix a garbage disposal. I somehow feel like a better person because I know how to fix a garbage disposal.

14. Good things are worth fighting for.

15. There is nothing more magical than getting your hair washed by someone. While we’re talking about hair, know that it will grow back. No use crying over a bad haircut. I wish I could tell my 7th grade self this as I stood in the mirror crying while my mom told me that it would grow back. (I was crying over layers, not a pixie cut, but you would have thought my hairdresser cut off all my hair.) I’ll refer you back to point three.

16. Trust your instincts.

17. While studying abroad in 2006 (without my sister), I gained an incredible amount of confidence. I was terrified to go, but it has been the most life changing event in my life.

18. I’m an introvert.

19. Quality, not quantity is what counts in friendships. I don’t have a bagillion friends. Probably because I’m an introvert. However the friends that I have are fantastic. They know me. They get me. And I love them.

20. Thank the Lord every day for your life and the people in it.

21. A little lipstick goes a long way. As much as I hate to admit this one, <om and Mimi – you’re right. I look so much more put together with a little color on my lips.

22. Don’t compare yourself to others. They are not you. Theodore Roosevelt said it  best when he said, “Comparison is the thief of joy.” (This is an ongoing lesson in my life.)

23. I have a voice, even if I am still learning to use it.

24. Save money and plan for the future.

25. Get out and see the world. Travel. We are all uniquely created and the world is made up of fascinating people and cultures. Go out and meet them.

26. Don’t be afraid to try new things or to fail. It’s the only way we learn. This year I learned how to redo an old chair, lay a patio, and how to sew (or am currently learning how to sew.) None of my projects are perfect, but I’ve found more satisfaction in learning a new skill than I ever found in being perfect.

27. Wear sunscreen.

28. I am greatly loved by my family and friends and a gracious and merciful God.

What have you learned in this life? Are there any life changing tips or tricks I need to know?

5 thoughts on “How to eat ice cream and twenty-seven other life lessons learned

Leave a Reply

