Malaysia [part three]

Be sure to check out post one and post two if you haven’t done so already.

I guess my body has finally had enough sleep. I woke up at 4:30 this morning and waited around for Starbucks to open. Sure, I could have made my own coffee…but I needed something to do until it was a reasonable hour to actually commit myself to the desk for eight hours of work, ha.

So to pick up where I left off, on Monday morning, we walked back to the The Loaf for lattes, pastries, and fresh juice while we planned the day. It was New Year’s Eve and we knew we would need to make it an early night since the next day we had a 3:30am wake up call. We decided to have lunch at a hawker stall before continuing out to Batu Caves for the afternoon.

Batu Caves is a few miles outside the city. Your first sight of it is a huge (140 feet) statue of Murugan, a Hindu diety. You then have to climb 272 stairs up into the cave. It was an excellent little work out! Anyways, you get inside the cave to find some intricate Hindu shrines and some pretty aggressive monkeys. I think I expected a more intricate cave with passageways and areas to explore but it was interesting, nonetheless.

Batu Caves2 Batu Caves6 Batu Caves7 Batu Caves1 Batu Caves Batu Caves3 Batu Caves4 Batu Caves5 Batu Caves8 Batu Caves12 Batu Caves9 Batu Caves10 Batu Caves11 Batu Caves13 Batu Caves20Batu Caves19 Batu Caves18 Batu Caves17 Batu Caves16 Batu Caves15 Batu Caves14

One thought on “Malaysia [part three]

Leave a Reply

