Cambodia [part six]

This is the sixth post in a series. Post one can be found here, two can be found here, three can be found here, and four can be found here, and five can be found here.

If you stuck with me through the other five posts, thanks! I am so glad! This is the final post on Cambodia and I can’t believe that with this post, I’ve actually edited all of my photos. Never have I edited a trip so fast! So – to pick up where we left off…

After visiting the rice fields, we made our way to the Artisans Angkor silk farm. The silk farm is part of the Artisans Angkor system that I mentioned in a previous post, but is quite a large operation and therefore it is a little ways out of town. Once there a guide walked us through the process of how silk is made. The process to make one scarf, from start to finish, takes two months. (I originally thought that this was a very long time, but upon thinking about how long it takes me to finish one project, two months isn’t that bad!) The silk is really beautiful and in its raw form, it is very soft. I think I prefer the raw silk myself. They also say it keeps you warmer in the winter. For someone who has a space heater on her feet when it is in the 70’s, I think raw silk is the silk for me!

Cambodia_423 copy Cambodia_427 copy Cambodia_424 copy Cambodia_426 copy Cambodia_432 copy Cambodia_437 copy Cambodia_439 copy Cambodia_440 copy Cambodia_445 copy Cambodia_447 copy Cambodia_448 copy Cambodia_454 copy Cambodia_457 copy Cambodia_460 copy

After visiting the silk farm, we returned to town for lunch followed by some time at the hotel to rest. Matthew and I went back out at 3:45pm to Angkor Wat. I wanted a few more photos of the temple. The first day we visited the temple it was extremely bright and I wasn’t pleased with my shots. Thankfully we had the time to head back to the temple for a few more.

Cambodia_468 copy Cambodia_473 copy

Finally, Chin and our driver took us to Phnom Bakheng to see the sunset. It is important to note that from Phnom Bakheng, you do not actually see the sun set over Angkor Wat. It sets in the opposite direction. It is still pretty spectacular to see the sun setting over the jungle, however. If you decide to make the trek up to Phnom Bakheng, note they only allow three hundred people on the temple for the sunset. (At least that is what Chin told us.) If you want a great shot of the temple with dramatic lighting, I would recommend sunrise. Although the photo above was taken around 4:00pm, and I personally think it is still pretty spectacular, even without the pinks and oranges of the Cambodian sunset.

From the top of the temple, you do get a pretty great view of Angkor Wat though, and that to me, was worth the trip. At the top you’ll see a bunch of telephoto lenses. You’ll want one too as the temple is quite a bit away.

Cambodia_478 copy Cambodia_489 copy Cambodia_482 copy

And with that, I conclude my posts on Cambodia. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading them and looking through the photos as much as I have enjoyed writing them. And if you are tired of travel photos and ready for some projects, you are in luck because I have finally finished Matthew’s bar cart (yep, snuck that one in with two weeks until our anniversary), and I can’t wait to show it to you…as soon as I photograph it, which means I’ll probably also need to restock it!

One thought on “Cambodia [part six]

Leave a Reply

