And Then I Quit…

Swimming.

When we were younger, we lived in a neighborhood with a swimming pool. In the summer, the swimming pool was the place to be in Deerfield.

Deerfield had a swim team…the Deerfield Dolphins. Man…I really wanted to be a dolphin and wear one of those awesome red and blue one piece swimsuits that crossed in the back. They were so cool. One summer I got my chance when my mom signed us up for the swim team. Finally, that red and blue swim suit was mine. I couldn’t wait to wear it.

Before I go on, you should know that I have NEVER, to this very day, opened my eyes under water. I tried once but the sting was so bad that I vowed never to do that again. Fortunately, I had goggles for the swim team. They were speedos.

Week one of practice – we’re in the pool. I swim my lap down the pool. But something was wrong. My goggles were leaking. LEAKING, y’all! What is a girl to do?

Quit, of course. And so I did. That very day.

This is the only photo I could find of our totally awesome swimsuits.

swimming

What’s that? You don’t see me in there? That’s because I had already quit. But Sara didn’t! That’s her on block number one. Way to go Sara for being brave and for not needing goggles.

Happy Friday, friends!

Leave a Reply

