Fit Week [part two]

Picking back up where we left off on Part One

On Wednesday, Sara and I went to The Synergy Studio at the Pearl Brewery for their Hot Yoga class. I enjoyed the class, but Sara said it didn’t get as hot as her studio back home in Little Rock. I have tried to do yoga on my own at home…and I really want to like it…but I just get bored at home. My mind wanders and I start thinking about all of the things I still need to finish during the day. I enjoyed it a lot more at a studio, but at 15 dollars a class, that’s just not something I have room for in my budget. But perhaps every once in a while I will drop in for a tuneup and in the meantime, try to fight feelings of boredom at home when I am trying to do it on my own.

That evening we made cheesy spaghetti squash. I had made it twice before and really enjoyed it, but this was Sara’s first time to try it. I definitely like it though. Last week I made some spaghetti squash with pesto and tomatos and that was equally delicious  if not even a little more yummy. So if you are looking for something tasty and haven’t tried cooking with spaghetti squash yet, I recommend giving it a try. And if you are wondering how to cook spaghetti squash, I just fill a large pot with water and boil it for about 45 minutes, turning it in the water every once in a while so it cooks evenly. Then I slice it in half on the short end, take the pulp out with a spoon and tongs, and then take a fork and start scraping the sides for the spaghetti part of the squash.

On Thursday we went for a jog in the afternoon and it was hot. Summer isn’t quit in full force here in San Antonio, the humidity is brutal. For dinner, we tried a new recipe – Chicken Tostadas. It has also become a favorite. I made it again last week. That evening Sara and I went to watch The Great Gatsby. We loved it so much but were left emotionally drained afterwards. I don’t know how people who haven’t read the book or know what to expect could get through that one. I am so glad a reread the book before the movie so I could remember just how beautifully tragic it really is. And Baz Luhrmann did a fantastic job with this one. Every frame was an art piece. I am so glad there are people in this world who are so creative and can imagine up the things they do.

We finished up Thursday with the guys at the Hofbrau watching the Spurs game.

On Friday we went for another jog after work. We had been looking forward to friday all week long and it could have gotten there soon enough. After work we met Tiffany and her parents for dinner at Fralo’s in Boerne. It is one of our absolute favorite pizza places in town and Matthew and I jump at any chance we get to go there. Sara and I both have a soft spot for pizza. If we could eat one thing for the rest of our lives, it would be pizza. I know…everyone loves pizza…but this feels different. I only really decided that I actually LOVED, not liked, pizza about a year ago…why couldn’t it have been fruit? It was a really fantastic night with friends…and now I’m craving pizza.

Fralos

 

Side note: I’ve been growing my hair out all year. I’m really bummed that it looks so short in this photo.

2 thoughts on “Fit Week [part two]

Leave a Reply

