A Note on Wisdom Teeth

Confession: I still have all of my wisdom teeth.

I have been very fortunate in my life to never have a hospital visit, minor surgery, broken bone, or general emergency. I haven’t thrown up in over 12 years. I am not a sickly person, and for that, I am so thankful. It has, however, crippled me with fear, knowing that in a few short weeks, I will be stuck with an IV and will have my wisdom teeth extracted from my mouth. Y’all, I am TERRIFIED.

I had my consultation this morning. I’m sure the doctor could see the fear in my eyes, but he was very nice, and patient. He went over the entire procedure with me. But even when he told me that looking at my x-ray there was nothing to worry about, I was, and am, still worried.

So…if you see me between now and the 26th (when I go in to have them removed), just give me a little nod or a hug and tell me things are going to be fine. I don’t want to hear horror stories. Until then, only happy thoughts.

FlamingosFlamingos

 

6 thoughts on “A Note on Wisdom Teeth

  1. Girl, you got this. All I remember about getting my bottom wisdom teeth removed was sleeping a lot and eating mashed potatoes haha

    And that’s crazy impressive you haven’t thrown up in 12 years. Unfortunately those pesky kidney stones enjoy making me throw up. Jerks.

  2. You are going to get through this like a champ, I know it! Sending you a big hug! Just be sure to have someone you love and trust pick you up after your surgery… we can’t always be held responsible for the things we say coming out of anesthesia… πŸ™‚

    • I agree with the above comments from the lovely Jessica and Rachel! You’ll be just fine. My wisdom teeth removal just resulted in some puffy cheeks and a couple days cozied up in bed. Take advantage of the recoup time to enjoy eating your favorite mushy foods and watching your favorite movies.

  3. Pingback: Weekend Wishes | The Daily Haley

  4. Pingback: Weekend Wishes | The Daily Haley

Leave a Reply

