The Weight of Prayer

I was telling some friends the other night at dinner that for the first time in my life, I actually felt my age. Usually the way I feel is several years behind my actual age, but while at the gym, as I was on the treadmill, listening to some jams, having a pretty great run, it hit me. I am 28 and I feel 28. And I’m at peace.

Now, I’m not talking about the age my body feels. If I were to actually examine the way my body feels, or felt on the treadmill, my knees would be 40, my lung capacity would be in my younger 20’s, my head would be lost somewhere between 2003 and a forty-something. But for a brief moment on the treadmill, I had a flash of clarity and all at the same time was able to take a poll on my life thus far and I said to myself, “Yeah, I feel 28.” There are several factors that go into that – one being life experiences. I am nowhere near where 16-year old me thought 28-year old me would be – filthy stinking rich and retired. Ha. But Matthew and I both have great jobs and we are financially stable. We don’t live extravagantly, but we enjoy a balanced lifestyle. What more could I really ask for? I’m not retired, but I love my job, so that’s a win. My thighs still touch, but I work out regularly and enjoy a glass of wine and chocolate. Winning all around, really. I have a great group of friends, have attended several weddings, held many sweet babies, and attended more funerals than most people my age.

Yeah…I feel 28. And with this new-found realization, I’ve noticed what being in your late twenties means in regards to your prayer life. When you are younger you are taught Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep and the Lord’s Prayer. You pray for dogs, school, friends, family, anything and everything that pops into your head – your Lego set, someone that was nice to you, a huge rainstorm to knock out the power at school, etc. As you get older you still pray for some of those things, but your prayers start to change. I am at an age where people in my life are going through major things. Family, friends, and family friends with cancer, sweet babies not born, parents and grandparents dying. Major things. And sometimes they all pop up at the same time (seems to be the case recently) and God shows you what is means to pray without ceasing.

Once you start to pray, God continues to give you things to pray about because He wants us to be in constant communication with him. But beware. There is a weight associated with prayer and sometimes it weighs really heavily on you. When a friend asks for prayer, you have a responsibility, not only to pray for them, but to be in constant prayer for them. God is going to use your prayers to do great things. He’s going to move a mountain.

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. [1 Thessalonians 5:16-18]

tumblr_mrxku0RArF1rff1ieo1_500via

3 thoughts on “The Weight of Prayer

  1. This is lovely, Haley, and true. Thank you for sharing! We have started to “feel our age” lately too. 🙂 Joel said yesterday, “I’m finally growing up…about 10 years late.”

  2. Thank you for sharing these thoughts, sweet friend. You are encouraging to me as life only continues to grow more and more “real” all the time!

Leave a Reply

