A Happy Mess

He told me yesterday that the pest control guy would be here today but that doesn’t mean I remembered. When there was a knock at the door I tried to ignore it.

“Go away!” I thought. I’m not answering the door right now. The house is a mess. I’m a mess. Yesterday’s mascara is underneath my eyes. It’s cold. It’s Monday.

These are all valid reasons, in my mind, for not answering the door.

“Maybe if I just sit here real still and quiet whoever is at the door will go away.” That also ran through my head. But he was persistent. I went to the guest room to try to get a glimpse of who might be at my door still standing there. And then it clicked. The guy from Century Pest Control.

Only this was not our normal guy – the guy that has seen me dressed, the guy that has seen my house clean, the guy that already knows I work from home and don’t quite have it all together and am quiet and keep to myself, who has the nice husband who offers everyone something to drink and a little chat. This was a different guy and my life looks like a disaster at 10:00am.

I quickly ran to the door and threw it open. “I’m so sorry! I totally forgot you were coming today. My husband told me, but I forgot!”

He looked a little shocked. “It’s ok. Should I start outside?”

“Yes, please!” In my head it was more like, “OMG YES! I need to wipe yesterday’s makeup from my face and tidy (throw everything in closets, under the bed, anywhere I can find to hide my mess). Is there time to get a batch of cookies in the oven so my house will smell good?  (Just kidding, I didn’t think that last bit.)

He made quick work of the outside and was soon walking through my house. “Is there any room I need to avoid?”

Only every single one. Please step over the boxes from Christmas decorations, the wrapping paper in the living room, the clean towels on the floor in the bedroom. Don’t mind the mess in the kitchen and the fabric strewn about on the kitchen table next to my sewing machine. My hair? Why yes, I did just throw it in a messy bun on top of my head. Some girls think it’s cool, but let’s be honest, it’s still messy. At least I got some foundation on my face.

“Nope, every single room is fine for you to spray in.” (If you can. Here, let me get out of your way and hang my head in shame.)

It’s Monday at 10:00am. I don’t have kids, I work from home, my house is a mess and no, I don’t have it all together. But I did survive someone seeing the mess in my life and still managed to smile when he left. Happy Monday, y’all.

24529d0ed187d8032756e48f7d5081dfLovely inspiration

One thought on “A Happy Mess

Leave a Reply

