Out With the Old, In With the New Faucet

There are some things in life that I care about and some things I just don’t. When we moved into our house, I said, “I don’t care for the kitchen faucet, but it’s fine.” Then I lived with it for almost three years. And it was fine, albeit a little temperamental. Turn it on just slightly for a gentle stream of water and without touching anything, you were covered in water from head to waist. The finish was chipping off, but I could even handle that, knowing I was going to replace it one day.

Then a few weeks ago it collapsed into our sink and I knew it was time. It was just a nut that had come loose, and it was easy enough to screw back in, but it was the straw that broke the camel’s back for me. I was done with this thing. I never cared for it anyways.

faucet

So Matthew and I ordered a new faucet without much research, which is something I don’t normally do. We just picked one that was in our price range. Sure, I loved tons that were way out of our price range, and if we were planning on staying in this house forever, I might have saved up for the splurge, but we won’t be here forever, and really I just wanted something that was good enough. I think it is a sign that I’m moving into my thirties. Some things I just don’t care about.

Leave it to me to install a new faucet on Sunday afternoon only to find out that the waterlines didn’t have the right connecting pieces and Home Depot had already closed for the day. Then, in a brilliant move, decided to make dinner AND dessert. I washed dishes in the bathtub that night, shaking my head, asking why I do the things I do.

The answer, by the way, is because I’m not satisfied unless I’ve made it harder on myself. By Monday morning I had remembered the paper plates in our panty. Hand to face moment.

But now the faucet is hooked up and water is coming out at a steady and constant stream. For me, it’s still one of those things that just gets the job done, but having done no research beforehand, so far, I’m pleased with the faucet. I’m not going to write about beautiful curves or ease of use or anything like that. It’s just a faucet, people. But it works, and that, I’m happy about.

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset

Happy dish washing.

One thought on “Out With the Old, In With the New Faucet

  1. Pingback: The Very Not So Daily Haley | THE DAILY HALEY

Leave a Reply

