Dr. Pepper Cake

This past weekend I co-hosted a baby shower with my sister and two other women for our BFF Nikki. I volunteered to make a cake for the shower and knowing Nikki’s love of chocolate, turned to my trusty Dr. Pepper Cake. Several people asked for the recipe so I thought I would share it here. It isn’t a family recipe, just a family go-to recipe. A little googling could probably produce the recipe as well, but to make it easy, here it is for you:

Nikki's Shower 1

Ingredients:

1 box of Vanilla Pudding (the regular size)

1 box German Chocolate Cake Mix

4 Eggs

1 tsp Vanilla

2/3 cup Vegetable Oil

12 oz. Dr. Pepper

Frosting:

1 package Cream Cheese

1/2 cup Butter

1/4 cup Cocoa Powder

1 tsp Vanilla

1 pound Powdered Sugar

Directions:

Mix all of the cake ingredients together in a bowl. Beat with a mixer for approximately two minutes. Pour into a greased and floured 9×13 cake pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes then reduce the heat to 300 degrees and bake for another 10 minutes.

Note: I used a round cake pan for Nikki’s cake. I baked it for about 35 minutes at 350 degrees and then 10-12 minutes at 300 degrees. It was a little guess and check, but that might give you a starting point if you want to do round cakes.

For the frosting, beat the frosting ingredients together until smooth and frosting-like. (I’m really technical.) Because I like frosting and will always eat any leftovers with animal crackers, I make a double batch. For Nikki’s cake, I made two cakes and a double batch of frosting which was enough to spread through the middle of the cakes and all around it. I even had a little left over (which I forgot at the shower. I hang my head in shame.)

So there you have it…Dr. Pepper Cake. Super moist, super good, and my go-to chocolate cake recipe. It has never disappointed me.

Enjoy!

Nikki's Shower 2 Nikki's Shower 3P.S. I didn’t take my camera so I only have these few iphone photos.

P.S.S. Sara arranged the flowers, and Nikki’s cousin baked the sweet cookies.

 

Leave a Reply

