Nursery Inspiration

After we found out that we were having a girl, I got pretty excited about designing the perfect room for Lady B. It would have to be sophisticated and elegant, as I’m sure she’ll be. I’m sure she’ll never draw on walls or throw food, her hair will always be perfectly brushed, her dresses spot free, and her shoes on the correct feet. Yeah right.

Regardless of the mess she may be, I still wanted a pretty room she could grow into. My other requirement was that it not cost and arm and a leg to achieve the look. If you remember our guest bathroom, we painted the walls with Benjamin Moore White Dove and the trim we painted Benjamin Moore Rockport Gray. We decided to carry those colors throughout the small hall that connects Lady B’s future room to the guest bathroom to keep things consistent.

Then I started looking at the things we had around the house that could be used in the room. Luckily I’m a somewhat of a pack rat when it comes to art and I happened to have enough pieces in a plastic container under the guest bed to start pulling things together. Here’s the inspiration board we’re working with:

Nursery

I’ve had my Eames Rocker for several years and couldn’t wait to use it in a nursery one day. We’ll add the floor pouf I sewed for a little place to rest our feet. I picked up the basket from Target one day when I am sure I was shopping for something else or just blowing some time. We’re using West Elm’s Snow Peak Rug that we found on sale at the Pottery Barn outlet in San Marcos one day while we were passing through on an Ikea run, which is where the curtains are from. Side note, the Merete Curtains from Ikea may be my favorite thing the store has. They are nice and thick, and for the price, you really can’t beat them. I want to get two more sets for our living room.

I found a dresser on Craigslist that I am in the process of refinishing. I’ve got it sanded, I just need to prime it, pick a color, and find some fresh hardware. (If you’ve got a color you think I should try, similar to the color in this picture, let me know!) Shout out to Jessica and her mother for helping Matthew and I pick it up. Jessica’s mom came to the rescue with her SUV and the dresser fit nicely inside of it.

For art, we’ll be using some that we already had in the office and others I had saved, including a painting my grandmother did of a ballerina. The map of Paris is actually a piece of wrapping paper that I picked up when Matthew and I visited some friends in Georgia almost two years ago and never hung up, but you can find it online here. We’ll also be using some botanical prints that I saved from Rifle Paper Co’s 2012 wall calendar. The girl in Paris photographing the Eiffel Tower is from Inslee’s 2013 wall calendar. The only piece of art I’ve purchased for Lady B’s room is the girl with the braid from Elizabeth Mayville. I’ve admired her work for so long and this print seemed like it would fit perfectly into Lady B’s room.

So…there’s our inspiration. We’re in the process of ripping out the old quarter round and replacing it like we did in the living room and dining room. We’ll then paint it and start putting the room together. Maybe by then we will have decided on a crib. Maybe.

3 thoughts on “Nursery Inspiration

Leave a Reply

