Matthew’s Bar Cart

I’m almost embarrassed to write this post. I can’t believe it has taken me this long to complete a project. Anniversary present fail. Remember the bar cart I acquired for Matthew’s anniversary present last year that needed some TLC?

Over the Labor Day weekend Matthew spent some time sanding and scraping off the top layer of wood that had been ruined by water. It was a tough job, so I’m glad he decided to tackle that part of the cart.

During the sanding process, we also cut out a new top for the bar cart. We just used plywood and covered the edges with a wood veneer edge binding. Matthew and I don’t have a jigsaw, so we cut it out at my parent’s house. Next tool on the list of tools to buy is a jigsaw!

The photo above doesn’t show the edge binding. Unfortunately I don’t have a photo of the to show you.

And that is how the bar cart remained for a while. This week I finally finished it. Two weeks before our anniversary and just in time for Matthew to host two of his old college roommates for the weekend. What does that make me? Worst wife for an anniversary present a year late, or best wife for stocking it for him and his buddies? I think we all know the answer to that one!

Bar Cart_20 copyBar Cart copy Bar Cart_19 copy Bar Cart_18 copy Bar Cart_14 copy Bar Cart_13 copy Bar Cart_11 copy Bar Cart_5 copy Bar Cart_4 copy

9 thoughts on “Matthew’s Bar Cart

  1. Cheers!! This looks fantastic! You are always such a gracious hostess – I’m sad that Mark gets to see you guys this weekend and I am missing out!

  2. Pingback: Bar Cart Inspiration » Embellish

  3. Pingback: Bar Cart on Design Sponge Today | The Daily Haley

  4. Pingback: Make Mine a Double – Bar Carts | A WordPress Site

Leave a comment